Off and running

Yee-haw…both of my kids are in school and I’m feeling like a free woman. My daughter started kindergarten yesterday, and for those of you who asked, I managed NOT to cry. She was just so darn excited about the whole experience, I couldn’t ruin it for her by getting weepy. She jumped out of bed and had herself ready to go this morning with time to spare, so I think we’re off to a great start. I also hired a new sitter to pick up my son a few days a week so I can work a little more. (All of you in need of organizational help–I’m waiting for my phone to ring off the hook!). Now that the kids are taken care of, I’m really starting to wonder what I’ll do with myself during all of this “me” time?

I talked to my sister in Greensboro the other day–we’re in the same boat getting both kids off to school this week. She went shopping to pick up some necessities on her first day of freedom and came home with $200 worth of stuff. I’m a little worried the same thing will happen to me. As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t love shopping, and I truly despise shopping with my kids. But now that I have all of this free time, will I begin to shop as entertainment? Will it be a little too easy to browse and pick up unnecessary items? Will shopping fill some void I didn’t know I had? Perhaps the real challenge has just begun!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

