Damned if I buy, damned if I don’t

I shopped without even meaning to yesterday. My son’s school is selling t-shirts and I whipped out the checkbook and purchased one without giving it a thought. I guess after the now famous Crocs incident of Tuesday, the seal was broken and my conscience felt free to buy.

Last night we had parents’ night at preschool and the dedicated fundraising co-chairs gave their spiel. I hadn’t even thought about how I would get out of that one. Giftwrap, books, toys–all raising funds for the scholarship fund at preschool. And we haven’t even heard about all we’re expected to buy to raise money for elementary school! How will I escape this one? Damned if I buy (environmentally), damned if I don’t (slacker mom!).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Damned if I buy, damned if I don’t

  1. Renee says:

    Re-seal your “buying” conscience and open up the “donating” one!! Here’s a tip for parents, grandparents, neighbors, co-workers … anyone who feels put upon to purchase an unneeded
    item in order to support our schools, clubs or whatever. Make a donation instead.

    Most groups will accept a CHECK marked “donation” in the memo and given to the child who is selling. If the child is unsure, go ahead and do it and just tell the child to give it to Mom or Dad who can then make sure that the PTA or club organizer gets it. You feel good about helping; the school gets much needed money, and you don’t end up with something you don’t really want. (The exception to this is Girl Scout Cookies, after all, we all need a box or two of those come mid-winter!)

    The only downside to this is that it doesn’t help your child to sell the most whatevers and therefore your child may not win the junk (oops, I mean toy) that they would have for selling the most whatevers. Wait, that’s just another benefit!!

Leave a Reply

