How about a little appreciation for the suffering?

I have a fantastic husband and I love him dearly. But man, did he make me mad this morning! I casually mentioned that I wanted to go to Dickinson’s (my favorite plant store in Chapel Hill) and purchase some fall plants for the pots on our deck. As I’ve mentioned before, I love fall–it truly is my favorite time of the year. But by September, my impatiens are drooping, my coleus is leggy, and my lantana is ready to call it quits. My summer plants need to be given a proper burial in the compost pile, only to be quickly replaced by pansies, ornamental cabbages and mums. I fully recognize that this purchase is an “exception”…it’s not a necessity, nor is it truly a replacement of something we have to have. But it’s plants, for crying out loud.

So when I mentioned this to Carter, he had the audacity to say, “boy, we sure aren’t suffering too much around here if you can go and buy plants. What kind of exception is that?” This didn’t go over so well with me. For the record, I do about 95% of the shopping for this family (food, clothes for kids, stuff for the house, stuff for our cat, stuff for HIM), so as far as I’m concerned, I’m doing 95% of the not-shopping right now, too. So yes, I’m suffering! He could be married to a woman who loves big diamonds, expensive cars and requires a Nordstrom’s fix every 10 days. But that’s not me! I’m a total tight wad and I’m willing to give up a little in the name of environmentalism.

So all I’m saying is that I’d like to be shown just a little appreciation for my efforts. Perhaps we’re not living in a yurt powered by the sun, but in some small way, I’m trying. Can’t I just get a little joy out of digging in the dirt for a day without grief? I expect a full apology, and a foot rub, before morning! Oh, and FYI honey: I will be buying pumpkins this year as well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How about a little appreciation for the suffering?

  1. Yurts are way, way overrated for actual living. I lived in one (called “gers” in Mongolian) for a year-and-a-half and they aren’t powered by anything since very few of them are connected to electricity. The ones that are aren’t quite as mobile as true nomad cultures need them to be.

    Anyways, they are heated usually by wood or dung-burning stoves in the center of the structure, with a small hole at the top to let light in and the stove pipe out. Certainly, not all of the smoke exits the small pipe, which leads to what the World Health Organization deems, “internal air pollution”. Basically, it’s where the quality of air is worse inside your home than outside. It’s a huge problem for those that have open fires or poor ventilation in their shelters.

    Just something to think about. Third world countries have a host of problems that folks in more developed parts of the world can’t even really imagine: like water shortages, internal air pollution, food contamination. As I said, yurts aren’t all that they are cracked up to be.

Leave a Reply

