I’m powerless

Step one in most 12-step programs is admitting you’re powerless over your addiction. Well I’m here to say, I am truly powerless over the seduction of Target. I had to get my car stereo repaired this morning (yee-haw…NPR is back and operational, however, my CD player was unsalvageable). The VW store is right next to Target in Durham and I just needed a few necessities, so I went in there with my list in my hand and a firm resolve to stay true to my pledge of not buying.

I was first lured in by the site of a booster seat for less than $20. We need (well…okay, we want it, but it’s much more convenient to have two!) one for my husband’s car and it seemed like a real bargain, so I bought. Then I had to swing through the workout clothes section on my way to pick up cat food. I recalled my nearly crotchless workout pants (not such a hot look in a yoga class!) and was totally tempted to buy. If I had seen something I liked, I would have fallen prey, but fortunately, there wasn’t anything I fell in love with so I walked away empty handed. Naturally, the $1 Spot is right next to the checkout and it was filled with Halloween goodness, all for a buck! I would have been all over that bargain booth, but I happened to see someone I know and I couldn’t get busted buying by someone who reads this blog! Close call…

So I escaped with only one extra purchase, but boy was it good to be back, walking the aisles of well-designed yet mostly un-necessary stuff. 3 months in and I’ve got to get back on the wagon and stay away from Target!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m powerless

  1. Kimmie says:

    Did they have any cute little weird shaped Halloween dishes in the $1 Spot? I like to use those as spoon rests. LMAO.

    I am sooooo glad the nearest Target is 45 minutes from here.

    Congrats on making it through without totally blowing it!!!!

  2. Thomas says:

    Perri,
    While at Target, did you casually saunter up and down the cosmetics aisles? Did any lipliners jump into your cart?

  3. Tiffany says:

    Perri,

    Not a comment on this entry per se, but I wanted to let you know how much I’ve enjoyed reading the blog. It’s well-written and very funny, but most of all thought-provoking.

    I worry that when Marc and I move back to the good ol USA and have more space I’ll fall into acquisition mode. Here in London having no extra cupboard space or bookshelves (or a coat closet, or anywhere to put shoes, or an attic or garage, or – well you get the picture, I’m sure) has meant that every purchase has to be justified. While it frustrates me no end sometimes, it has been good for us to realize just how much you can do without. I make it sound as if we live like monks, which isn’t true in the least, of course, but I do hope we take our lessons with us in the future.

    Keep up the good work! It’s great for this reader to have a taste of home, even if it’s scary sometimes!

Leave a Reply

