Four months down, two to go

I never thought we’d make it this far, nor did I think I’d come up with 50 blogs worth of stuff to talk about relating to our attempts to stop shopping. But here we are, 4 months in to our consumer-free experiment. Time to check in and run the numbers:

Q: Have we saved money?
A: Lowest Visa bill we’ve had in years (if not a decade). Hey, what do you know? If you want to save money, stop buying stuff. Why did it take so long for me to figure that out?

Q: Will we create less garbage?
A: We’ve definitely reduced our weekly waste (only 2 bags of garbage each week–not too bad for a family of 4–with one member still in diapers!). And I just found out that the City of Chapel Hill is about to start picking up mixed paper curbside. Yee-Haw!

Q: Will the kids learn from this experiment?
A: The Christmas toy catalogs are rolling in at a rate of about 4 a day. Interestingly, the activity sheets in the Target catalog got as much attention as the pages of toys. Maybe we’re getting somewhere with the kids afterall?

Q: Will we cheat?
A: Other than purchasing the much needed workout pants and a birthday present for my sister (I just couldn’t pass up something cool at Wink!), we stayed true to our pledge all month.

Q: Will we feel free?
A: I am enjoying the satisfying feeling of not adding to all that we already have. But I haven’t escaped the running list in my mind of all of the stuff I want right now (eg a minivan, some clothes, shoes, a rug in the dining room, all new linens in our master bedroom…the list goes on and on). I’m a little scared of of the woman I may become on January 10, 2007.

Christmas is breathing down my neck and I can’t help but fall into the trap of thinking about STUFF to give as gifts. All I can promise at this point is to stay honest and fess up to any purchasing we do. Stay tuned…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

