Consumer-free at two great art shows: A survival guide

I managed to survive the temptation of both Piedmont Craftsmen AND the Winston-Salem Whimsical Women show without buying a thing. I can only thank uncomfortable shoes on Friday night for keeping me in my seat rather than browsing and buying. At the risk of sounding sappy, I received much more joy hearing the positive feedback for my sister’s artwork than I possibly could have received from buying something for myself.

And my dear grad-school friend, Kirsten, kept me company all day Saturday at Whimsical Women. It was much more fulfilling to sit and catch up with an old friend, downing no fewer than five cups of coffee and discussing the joys and frustrations of motherhood, than to purchase funky artwork that I loved, but truly didn’t need.

Now, if I can just utilize these same survival tips as we cruise into Christmas shopping season…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

