Two days to go…

…and I feel like our consumer-free experiment is ending with a sigh. This Tuesday we’re technically finished with our six months of not shopping. I recently spoke with someone at Marketplace who is writing a story about sustainability and our consumer culture, and she asked what I would be doing on January 9th. I really hadn’t given it much thought. I can’t imagine I’ll be out shopping–and I think it will take a while to even think about buying at will again. I have mixed feelings about ending it all…probably the way someone might feel after they leave Weight Watchers. Can I maintain on my own? What temptations lie ahead? Have we forever changed our lifestyle?

I’m working on pulling all of my thoughts together about this experiment. Look for a summary in the next few days.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

