Happy Birthday, to me

Today, Cinco de Mayo, I turned 37. Despite the rain and cool, not so springy temperatures in North Carolina, it turned out to be a glorious day of time with the kids, time spent by myself buying and planting herbs and flowers, a rain drenched soccer game for my daughter, and a surprise shopping spree. I purchased yet another TV outfit (by now I’ve totally outspent my earnings from Fine Living)–a gorgeous blue linen suit that I had been fantasizing about for over a month now. I’ve unleashed some kind of shopping-for-clothes Perri that seems unstoppable! But I love the suit and considered it a birthday/mother’s day gift to myself. Carter gave me an iPod Nano which I’m also crazy about. It came complete with photos of the kids set to some groovin’ tunes. And the kids showered me with kisses, home made cards and some delicious cupcakes from Whole Foods.

In the past, I’ve had all kinds of outrageous expectations on my birthday that could never be fulfilled. Today, thanks to our insanely busy, sad and stressful April, I decided to just “be” and enjoy whatever the day brought. And it was one of my best birthdays ever.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Birthday, to me

  1. Mary says:

    Happy Birthday! Glad to hear it was a good one!

  2. carrievoris says:

    Happy Cinco de Mayo – it is my birthday, too! I had a lovely day as well, and actually didn’t mind taking the “turn” towards 40. I turned 35…

    It is a fun day to celebrate being born, huh?

    Here is to a great year!

  3. Jennifer says:

    I thought about you on your special day – so glad it was peaceful. We miss you guys!

    oxox
    jen

Leave a Reply

