The LBD Project

My friend Mary Beth just sent me this site and I love it. A woman in Seattle made a brown dress, and wore it every single day for a year. This was her attempt to “reject the economic system that pushes over-consumption, and the bill of goods that has been sold, especially to women, about what makes a person good, attractive and interesting.” Alex Martin, the designer and “performer” in this non-consumer experiment, spent less than $20 on clothes over the course of the year. Alex has now committed to making all of her own clothes using recycled materials for the next year. I admire her ability to keep on truckin’…I’ve clearly folded like a cheap (well…maybe not so cheap!) tent in my feeble attempts to hop back off the consumer train. Check her site out and let me know what you think!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

