I’m a van driver

After a year’s worth of searching, debating, discussing, fretting, complaining and saving, we purchased a Nissan Quest minivan yesterday. I found a used 2006 with only 12K miles and way more bells and whistles than we need or want, but that pimped out ride is suh-weet. The DVD player isn’t working right now, so we’ll have to get it fixed, but otherwise, it’s kid-totin’ perfection.

To shake off my 20 MPG guilt, I plan to carpool frequently and purchase a Terrapass so I can keep striving for that carbon neutrality my buddy Gore always talks about. The upside is, I can fit a litter of kids in that car with very little cursing over car seat struggles AND I will be chopping off no tiny limbs with heavy doors that won’t stay opened on our cliff-side driveway. All these benefits, plus Carter and I celebrate our 13 year wedding anniversary tomorrow. Just think of the sex he’ll want to have when sees me pulling up in that love machine every day! Clearly, I’ve consumed the kool-aid and I’m one happy mom!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m a van driver

  1. Neva says:

    Congrats on the van and the anniversary!
    You know what they say – if the van’s a rockin’…

  2. erin says:

    Wow, you finally jumped ship and joined the club. Congrats! Though you now
    are officially a suburban mom with minivan and all, you did go with the coolest
    of the options. The Nissan is a tight ride. I hope you enjoyed the
    anniversary…did you get the full length sunroof/skylight option?

  3. Pingback: Mama needs a yard upgrade (and a body makeover, to boot)! « Enough is Enough

  4. Liz says:

    Ah, so even the coolest cats succumbed to the anti-coolness, but absolute awesomeness, of the mini van. We’ve been in the van brigade for just over a year and I swear, it’s been family heaven. I think we sing more when we’re rolling in the van…

Leave a Reply

