A Giving Party…in the works

Did anyone catch Oprah yesterday? Her guest was Bill Clinton, promoting his new book, “Giving.” The show also featured the founders of Kiva.org, and I just recently heard a story on NPR about this organization that allows everyday people to make microloans to entrepreneurs in developing nations.

On the heels of watching this show, I checked email to find TWO invitations to “sip and shop” parties–you know, jewelry shows, trunk shows, Southern Living Home Shows, where you bring a friend, drink wine and spend money on stuff…that kind of party. All of this created the perfect storm of an idea…why not host a “Giving Party”–serve wine, invite every woman I know and ask them to bring a friend, and rather than purchasing a bunch of stuff we could probably all live without, have laptops available around the house and allow people to GIVE (anonymously, to kiva.org or other worthy organizations).

I’m still letting the idea float around in my head for a few days to work out the details. But I really think I’d like to do this sometime this fall. I figured if I put it on my blog, you’d hold me to it! Share your input and let me know if you have ideas or have ever attempted to throw such a party. And if you Tivo’d Oprah yesterday, I encourage you to watch it. It was a very inspiring show!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Giving Party…in the works

  1. Paige says:

    I’d drive to Chapel Hill for that party. Most people go to those events to get out of the house on a week night anyway. So why not invest in the future instead of the pizza stone…stinky candle…sex toy you’ll never use…

    You get my point…
    Little P

  2. Caroline Pence says:

    Perri, this is a great idea! What if you invited friends and asked the people who have a favorite charity to say 3-4 sentences about it. I know many of my friends have favorite local or national non-profits they support, and I would love to know more about how they got interested in a particular group and what those groups do. (I would not have heard of greendimes if it weren’t for your blog, for example…). You could have laptops for donating and information about the various groups scattered around. And wine! I would definitely come to an event like this.

  3. Sheryl says:

    Sign me up, Perri! I saw that same show, and love the idea of a giving party. I could see myself having many glasses of wine and accidentally adding too many zeros to my donation. Ten dollars can become a million so very, very easily.

  4. MojoMom says:

    Love it! Yes, I would love to participate. I am all for the idea of gatherings WITH a meaningful purpose and WITHOUT consumerism. I wrote the Mojo Mom Party Kit to help moms come up with ideas for such parties. Maybe you’d like to contribute ideas for a new issue of the Party Kit, revolving around your experience once your party happens. The Party Kit is free and you can download it from http://www.MojoMom.com

    I am a Kiva.org supporter as well and I’ve been really impressed with their work and my experience as a member of the community.

  5. Neva says:

    I’d love to do this, especially as an option for alternative gift giving before the holidays. I’d love to do more of that this Xmas rather than buying more “stuff”.

  6. I love it! I really hope you start something here!

Leave a Reply

