Thoughtful Gift Giving this Holiday Season

My first holiday catalog arrived yesterday. I’m sure I would have received loads more if I hadn’t significantly reduced my catalog haul through Greendimes. I’ve already started a little shopping list for gifts and my kids have both started mentioning things they just “can’t live without.” I can’t wait to see what talking-eating-shitting doll my daughter will dream up for her holiday wish list this year!

This Christmas will be different than last–Christmas of 2006 was the holiday season when we were consumer-free, so we really didn’t purchase much (well…relatively speaking). This year, I’m making the committment to shop thoughtfully again–but I won’t be as hard core as last year. First, I’ll have more information about my upcoming Giving Party soon. If you attend, you’ll have an opportunity to purchase donations as gifts for family, friends, teachers and coaches. I’ll start my shopping there, then I’m hoping to purchase the rest of my gifts from local artists.

If you’re a triangle dweller ready to start your shopping early, here’s a great chance to stock up on local arts and crafts. Whimsical Women is coming back to Chapel Hill! Mark your calendars for Saturday, October 20th from 10am-2pm in the Town Square of Southern Village. Women artists will be there selling their funky art for you, your yard and home. Look for Lulugroove (my sister, Paige) among the artists. Her dolls are amazing and she has fabulous vintage clothing with a cool new twist. I’m bummed because I’ll be out of town that Saturday, but if you’re around, I highly recommend this festival. The art is awesome, the food is delicious, and it’s just a great way to spend a Saurday hanging out with groovy women! Only 90 shopping days left until Christmas!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughtful Gift Giving this Holiday Season

  1. Neva says:

    I just heard a story about this on NPR then read it on Newsweek.
    Another great gift idea!
    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/20941373/site/newsweek/

Leave a Reply

