Shutting Doors

I just took a month off from my blog. It wasn’t a conscious decision, but just something I kept putting off and putting off. I only like to write when I feel that I have something worth saying (although I’m sure I could easily find examples of blog posts that prove otherwise), and the spirit just hasn’t been moving me lately.

I think this whole idea of a sabbatical from things that don’t inspire you is actually a great idea. I encourage my clients to know when to say “no”, otherwise, they’ll overcommit themselves to things that aren’t in line with their goals and they’ll find they don’t have time to do the things that really matter. Sometimes I’m pretty good at following this advice and other times, I stink.

The New York Times just posted an interesting article about this very topic. The article refers to Dan Ariely’s new book, “Predictably Irrational”, which discusses how human beings are notorious for keeping too many options open. Ariely goes on to discuss an experiment he did at MIT that illustrated how students prefer to keep their options open rather than eliminating choices. I’d love to be able to replicate this experiment in a time management talk–because I think it’s something we all struggle with in this day and age when we are bombarded by information, opportunities and choices.

So my mantra for spring is going to be “shut the door”–when I’m asked to join a committee, attend a meeting, or various other tasks that don’t line up with my goals, I’m going to practice the simple one word sentence, “No.” That doesn’t mean I won’t occasionally jump through a window if something really cool comes along…but at least I’m trying.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shutting Doors

  1. Anton Zuiker says:

    Me, too. Glad to know I’m not alone in taking a break and reminding myself of priorities.

  2. MBG says:

    My friend Sally sent me that article and I loved it. I felt it gave me permission to take Fridays off and goof with kids. Whether the age, financial or social climate that inspires this – I’m all for it!

Leave a Reply

