Crank up the tunes and GO (get organized)!

My friend Geralin just wrote a post over at Clever Parents about music that helps you get organized. I love this topic, because I really do believe that having a “theme song” can help you get your groove on. When I talk about maintaining organization, I always recommend this to audiences–find a song that you love, that makes you want to move, and tell everyone that it’s your organizing song. When it’s playing, you’re in the organizing zone and they’d better back off, or start helping!

Here are a few of my favorite songs/albums/artists to organize by:

Anything by the Black Eyed Peas (my kids love this music, too, although they’re now old enough to repeat the lyrics so I have to edit for content)

The Juno Soundtrack (my newest favorite, although also requires a little editing with the kiddos)

Green Day’s “American Idiot”

Regina Spektor’s “That Time” (just because it talks about finding a human tooth, and I have to say, I’ve found a few of those when working with clients before!). Her whole album “Begin to Hope” is fun.

Bela Fleck’s “Shocktime” — I dare you to keep up with the beat.

Bounce of the Sugar Plum Fairies by Don Byron (off “Bug Music”) will keep you tapping your toes as you put your stuff in it’s spot.

C+C Music Factories “Everybody Dance Now” for a flashback to college/the early 90’s.

Madeleine Peyroux’s “Careless Love” album for when you need to get a little sappy (like finally deciding you can part with 20 years worth of love letters from an old flame)

“Clocks” by Coldplay (I like it off the live album–close your eyes, pretend you have an audience, and rock out)

The B-52’s (pretty much anything), but I’m partial to “Love Shack”

Dan Zanes when I need to get the kids involved but don’t feel like keeping one hand on the volume to edit out bad words (I saw him live last year and my whole family wore our pajamas to what we thought was a Dan Zanes PJ party, but we were mistaken and were the ONLY ones in our jammies–still a hilarious memory!).

The Postal Service’s “Such Great Heights” and Modest Mouse’s “Float On”…good pick-me-up songs…

Wow…realizing I could go on and on. Load up your iPod, tune out the world, and get busy! Let me know if you have other favorites that motivate you to GO!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crank up the tunes and GO (get organized)!

  1. Hello, my friend, hello

    Hugs to you for sharing my enthusiasm and *getting this party started* on your always-fun-to-read blog.

    ~Geralin

Leave a Reply

