Who knew hangers were so much fun???

I hauled off two tangled up boxes of plastic hangers from a clients house today. I was planning to take them to the shed at the dump (where random people stop by to pick up free stuff), but then learned that our church could use them for their annual ABC Sale next spring. I brought them in to sort and band together and my kids acted like I was bringing in the coolest toy they’ve ever seen. They’ve been playing some sort of hanger sorting game for 20 minutes straight, having a ball. They even found a few that are glow in the dark…coolest things ever. Who needs toys when you have someone else’s castoffs!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who knew hangers were so much fun???

  1. Jackie says:

    Isn’t it amazing how much fun kids can have with everyday objects?

    I recently discovered the shed at the dump. What a great place. I was able to put an unused kids’ sprinkler toy in there and hopefully someone will get to enjoy it. So much better than just throwing it out. I also like freecycle.org. Our HOA recently decided that everyone in our neighborhood should get a new mailbox. Our old one was in pretty good shape, just a little dull and had a couple of rust spots. I offered it on freecycle and had so many people interested in it.

  2. perr1ker5h says:

    I love Freecycle…I’m always so amazed at how quickly things go. I think I wrote a post about it in 2006–I once read of someone giving away free lumber if someone was willing to dismantle the barn on their property and take the lumber with them. It was gone in a day. Amazing! If we all freecycled a little more and purchased a little less, the world would be a better place.

    BTW, I was taking the hangers to my church today and two preschool teachers snagged them before I made it up to the attic to store them. Free stuff is always so attractive!

Leave a Reply

