Why does summer camp registration make me hate summer just a little bit?

Well, hello there blog. Perhaps I should reintroduce myself. I’m Perri, and I haven’t seen you in a long time. Funny…you haven’t changed a bit!

I have loads I’ve been meaning to write about…organizing in tough economic times, New Year, Neater You, 10 ways to slim down on stuff…etc. But all of a sudden, summer camp registration time snuck up on me and I’ve been loaded down with schedules and applications and check writing. Ugh! A very wise friend came up with a brilliant idea that has saved me some of this headache, so I thought I would share it here.

GIRL POWER CAMP 2009!
Invite 5 girls to participate (helps if they know each other at least a little so they’re excited to spend a week together). Ask each mom to take all 5 girls for just one day during a week of the summer. Plan fun activities (bookclub, journal writing, a compliments box where the girls can write nice things about each other, pool time, outside play time, craft activities, cooking…whatever you’re in the mood for), and you’re off and running. I am in love with this idea. It’s creative, keeps the girls moving, builds on their self esteem and a sense of community, and it’s FREE!

We’re doing one week of Girl Power camp this summer as an experiment. My daughter is already so excited–it’s like a week of playdates–what’s not to love? Plus, it provides me with 4 work days where I don’t have to arrange or pay for childcare. In this economy, what could be better? And as a super summer bonus, I can channel my inner camp counselor…but just for one day. Almost makes me excited about summer again.

Do you have creative ways of dealing with summer camp schedules and expenses? Let me know here! And blog…I promise to do a slightly better job of keeping in touch. I’ve missed you a little.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

